Review of Wish You Were Italian (If Only… #2) by Kristin Rae


Wish You Were Italian by Kristin Rae

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: borrowed
Publication date: May 6th, 2014
Genres & Themes: YA, Traveling, Romance, Contemporary, Summer, friendship, family.

BLURB:

Pippa has always wanted to go to Italy … but not by herself. And certainly not to sit in art school the entire summer learning about dead guys’ paintings. When she steps off the plane in Rome, she realizes that traveling solo gives her the freedom to do whatever she wants. So it’s arrivederci, boring art program and ciao, hot Italian guys!

Charming, daring, and romantic, Bruno is just the Italian Pippa’s looking for—except she keeps running into cute American archeology student Darren everywhere she goes. Pippa may be determined to fall in love with an Italian guy … but the electricity she feels with Darren says her heart might have other plans. Can Pippa figure out her feelings before her parents discover she left the program and—even worse—she loses her chance at love?

REVIEW:

description

What an adventure! This is such a lovely summer read filled with romance, friendship and, if you didn’t realize it already, ITALY!

Pippa’s best friend, Morgan, gave her a journal with plenty of ‘tasks’, so she doesn’t fear boredom, of course! Her first one is in fact making a list of 10 goals she has to achieve before leaving Italy. One of her challenges is to, wait for it, fall in love with an Italian! Now that’s one dangerous challenge…

The reason she was sent to Italy, by her mother, was for her to study Art History. In a school. During summer. Although, since her classes start on Wednesday and she arrived to Italy on Saturday, Pippa decides to spend some time visiting since, let’s face it, she’s in ROME and no one can just leave Rome without visiting some of the most magnificent places.

Except…she ends up not going to Florence, where the school is, at all.

I must admit that it was a surprise to learn that. Pippa sure didn’t feel like studding Art History at all and I sympathized with that fact but I then also thought she might meet some people there and maybe even enjoy her studies. On the other side, her father did give her a lot of money for her to spend so it’s not like she didn’t have a choice.

About Pippa’s best friend Morgan…she felt fake. She’s the kind of person that is ALWAYS in a good mood and there for you, the perfect friend when, in my opinion, perfection doesn’t exist. She mostly annoyed me with her too enthusiastic personality but, on the other hand, if that kind of friend does exist, Pippa is lucky to have her.

Pippa was, generally, a good main character. She’s honest with people around her and fun. Like ever character, there are some stuff that I minded about her. She’s not very mature, realistic and fair, especially regarding her mother.

She keeps saying that her mother doesn’t care about her like we need to pity her but she doesn’t actually explain the why to us. All she’s saying is that her mother only cares about her work and not about what Pippa wants. It almost made me feel like the author included this kind of situation just so maybe we can connect more with her character but it wasn’t executed that greatly.

The friendship she had with Chiara, a girl she met in Rome, was very true and beautiful. They had a connection and I felt it. Chiara is one of the secondary characters and she definitely was a good element in this book.

The romance…it was cute and nice to read about. I actually pretty much predicted it all and I’m sure you will as well, but it still was entertaining and heart-warming. There are two love interests in this book (which makes it a love-triangle), Italian boy Bruno and mysterious one Darren. I absolutely preferred Darren because he has a special charm that I found very real and that affected me (in the good way.)

The writing is good and fast-paced. Again, a recommended pretty and light summer read to relax and simply have a good time. Also, it is read as a standalone.

View all my reviews on Goodreads.

36 thoughts on “Review of Wish You Were Italian (If Only… #2) by Kristin Rae

  1. I’ve only seen one review (I think) for this and that was a DNF one so I’m glad to see that you enjoyed it, Lola! I love traveling and Rome is one of my dream places to visit so I’d love to read this one this summer. “that is ALWAYS in a good mood” ughhh, it’s not like I want people to be unhappy, but I really dislike when there are best friends who are constantly like: “that guy totally has the hots for you, go get him! ooooh, live a little, dollface! life is so awesome, i love it! wooow, well, you know, darling, you look so gorgeous in this, you HAVE to get this outfit, it brings out all the sexy in you and you need to be a little more alive than dead with your usual outfits; yada yada yadddaaaa” just ugh, show me some flaws or real emotions, don’t be like this all the time. I’m glad that you enjoyed the friendship between Pippa and Chiara though. Oooohkay. So this basically killed my mood to read it: a friggin love tirangle *headdesk* because god forbid the girl goes on a trip and only one guy falls for her, it most def has to be 2 or more. Glad you enjoyed this as a whole even if it wasn’t a perfect read. Great review, Lola!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Really? That’s weird since it’s absolutely not your DNF type. But then again every person is different.
      HA, that’s EXACTLY how Morgan was!! You’re gooood, girl. BUT, at least she doesn’t pla such an important part in the book. The triangle was there mostly b/c of her list…yeahand I had no idea there was going to be one. 😛 Anyway, yeah it was a GOOD read. ^^ Thanks a lot, Siiri! ❤

      Like

  2. If my mom would ask me to go to Italy, I don’t need to be ask twice but surely Pippa has her reasons. Anyway, this looks cute, Lola. But you know me, I like fluffy, light books only on a very special day so I’d definitely pick this up when the mood strikes. I have to say her overly enthusiastic friend bothered me already. I’m not really a ray of sunshine kind of friend but knowing that someone out there could be one, makes me feel awful about my friendships. Haha!

    Like

  3. Italy! That awesome country with fabulous pizza, reckless drivers (haha, it’s a funny stereotype), and romantic men? Ooh lala, would love to read this one for that factor alone! But at the end of the day, we have to consider other factors too, like Morgan… you’re right about overly-preppy characters. They sound so… shady to me. Like why so enthusiastic all the time? It’s not that I easily judge people but it’s just “too-good-to-be-true” that it looks unrealistic, and therefore, fake. Whenever I meet someone like this in real life, a stranger of course (if I know that person personally and I know that really is her personality, I don’t really mind it much and am usually infected by her happiness!), I can’t held but just second guess them, like maybe they’re hiding agendas or something? Haha. Sorry, now this turned into a novel.

    And yeah, don’t just tell us about your relationship with your mother. SHOW IT TO US. That’s what you say, but are we really seeing it? That’s only a claim at the end of the day.

    Great review, love!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

    • Just thinking about their pizza makes me drool. Ha, there are MANY reckless drivers in Romania too but I guess everywhere in Europa (hahhaha we’re so mean.) A bit TOO romantic I think. That can actually make me unconfortable, you know? I guess that’s why I prefered Darren to Bruno. xd Yeah, people always so upbeat are suspicious! She did have reasons to be excited but still… Lol, it’s fine; I love novels 😉

      We BARELY see it. It’s pretty much inside the MC’s head. At least that’s what I deducted.
      Thank you! 😀

      Like

  4. Well, I have to say she’s missing out if she never makes it to Florence!!! I got to spend 5 weeks in Florence for a college photography program in college and it was the coolest city ever. Rome is amazing as well, though, so Pippa can’t really go wrong:) I agree with you on Morgan – I don’t think those perfectly upbeat, happy all the time people exist either, but maybe I just haven’t run across one yet? They’re like unicorns 😉 Glad you enjoyed this one for the most part Lola!

    Like

  5. The premise of the book sounds really cute! Although the love triangle has me hesitant, I think that in general this sounds like it was a cute, fluffy read. I have a book from the same series, so maybe I’ll start with that one first. Great review, Lola!

    Like

  6. I’m with everyone here – this sounds like a great book for summer with more of an emphasis on entertainment value than content, you know? I read Not in the Script – the third book in this series – and felt the same way you did; but I’m definitely willing to give this a try because it sounds so cute. Thanks for sharing Lola and, as always, BRILLIANT review! ❤

    Like

  7. I’ve got to see this one. Italy! I missed the trip for our school this year, but I’ve always wanted to see Italy. 😀 Maybe the book will help… though since it’s light, I probably won’t. I usually find myself aimed toward… I don’t know. The hardcore ones? :p

    Like

  8. I love books set in a country different from where the MC lives. Especially if deftly written, it feels like you’re exploring the foreign place along with the character. I’m currently eating up these fluffy and entertaining reads before summer vacation ends, so I’m definitely adding this to my tbr!

    Like

  9. Aaah, Roma! It is truely a beautiful city and I would love to spend an entire summer there, rather than the couple of days I spend there a few summers ago :). This really sound like a cute, summer read. I mean what is there possibly not to like, haha?

    Like

  10. I bought this book a when it came out and I have yet to read it. I’m waiting to be in a bad mood to read it because it sounds like the perfect book to cheer me up. Anyways, it’s weird that Pippa never really explains why she thinks her mother doesn’t care for her. She stills seems like she has some likeable traits! I love the sound of Darren already.
    Lovely review, Lola!

    Like

Leave a Reply

