Review of Breathe, Annie, Breathe (Hundred Oaks #5) by Miranda Kenneally


Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally

My rating: 3 of 5 lovely stars
Received: bought
Publication date: July 15th, 2014
Genres & themes: YA, Romance, Contemporary, Sports, Family, Death, Guilt.

BLURB:

Annie hates running. No matter how far she jogs, she can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive. So to honor his memory, she starts preparing for the marathon he intended to race.

But the training is even more grueling than Annie could have imagined. Despite her coaching, she’s at war with her body, her mind—and her heart. With every mile that athletic Jeremiah cheers her on, she grows more conflicted. She wants to run into his arms…and sprint in the opposite direction. For Annie, opening up to love again may be even more of a challenge than crossing the finish line.

REVIEW:

Eighteen years old Annie is training for the Country Music Marathon, a marathon she wants to participate for Kyle…her dead boyfriend. A death she feels responsible for and one she can’t stop thinking about.

It actually takes a lot of pages in this book for us to truly know what happened to Kyle. The moment I was beginning to lose patience, that’s when I learned everything.

While she is training, she meets this handsome, sexy, in shape, swoon-worthy guy who she learns is her coach’s (Matt) brother, Jeremiah. Jeremiah was a player, a fanatic of extreme sports and the kind to ‘mess things up.’ Now, he started working for his brother and wants changes in his life. But… can one truly change who they are and love?

I doubted that and still do after finishing this book.

I don’t necessarily think that it’s an impossible thing. I just…wasn’t convinced; the author didn’t convince me.

Annie is… I have nothing negative to say about her. I’m trying and searching but the only thing I can say is that she is so… lucky! Of course, not for her boyfriend’s death but, for everything that happens in this book, she is. First, for meeting Jeremiah before this latter was introduced as the new coach’s assistant. Then, for being asked to be a roommate at the college she’ll be going without even expecting the proposition. Third, for Jeremiah to being interested in her and for doing so well in her training when she, apparently, doesn’t have the knees for a long distance runner. Also, for Jeremiah’s sister to ‘fall in love’ with her. Finally, because I need to stop somewhere, for being accepted so easily for a job she just applied to. You can even say that Annie has it all.

I didn’t mind that about her though, and I do think her character made this story feel like a ‘fairy tale’ which is not a bad thing here.

There are also some deep moments when Annie is replaying memories with Kyle in her head. I did think those were cute, beautiful, and a bit emotional but, whenever she was telling us readers or some other people about what happened to Kyle, I never felt anything in her voice. Everything that came out of her mouth seemed very flat to me.

The writing was good and I did think the story was original since I don’t read many sport themed books. Because of that fact and since I did like this story and reading it, I will read the previous ones in the series. Yes, this is my first Hundred Oaks book. Not my last for sure though. And, if you’re wondering, this can be read as a standalone. Although, of what I heard, there are some cameos from characters from the previous books.

Final verdict: I did like this book that in fact made me want to put some gym clothes on and run run run until I can’t anymore. Did I do it? No. Will I do it? Probably, since I’m still thinking about this cute story.

PS. How cool is that cover?

View all my reviews on Goodreads.

31 thoughts on “Review of Breathe, Annie, Breathe (Hundred Oaks #5) by Miranda Kenneally

  1. OMG I can’t run so fast even if my life depends on it! I tire easily. 😦

    Anyway, I might try this book and the rest of the series.. someday. I should finish all the books in my tbr now before adding anything more. 🙂 Great review, Lola!

    Like

  2. Hmm. I’m kind of on the fence about this one – I’ve been a follower of Kenneally’s Hundred Oaks series for a while, but it seems like they’re lacking now – the first book was absolutely the best. On one hand, I want to read it and see if they’re getting better, but I’m afraid it’ll ruin all of my expectations. LOL. That was a lot.

    But it does seem like she kind of has everything. That would probably bother me to death… absolutely no one just has all of that luck waiting around for them. I hope you get a chance to read all of the rest in the series, because Catching Jordan is absolutely awesome! Fantastic review, lovely!

    Like

    • They do? I’ve no idea since it’s the first book I read in the series but I WILL read the others and then I guess I could compare.
      Right?? She’s CRAZY lucky. 😛 I will read Catching Jordan one day or another! 😀 Not now b/c big TBR but soon. ^^ Thank you!

      Like

  3. I read Breathe Annie Breathe not so long ago either and liked it enough. I ended up really just loving the story of why Annie was running the marathon and what she had the endure. The romance was cute but i’m not fully sold on Jeremiah, either. :/

    Like

  4. Ah the joys of fictional romance. I get the feeling that perhaps this book would have been better without the romance angle? I tend to feel that way a lot with YA novels, ‘this was a great story but whyyyyy the romance?!’ lol I might just be projecting my feelings though…

    Like

    • Maybe…I don’t know though, romance kinda brings an atmosphere to books (in general) and this one was one of those. Just the love interest that didn’t charm me xd BUT, I do agree that many YA books have TOO MUCH romance! Haha, you can project your feelings anytime. ^^

      Like

  5. This book sounds interesting! A bit unoriginal perhaps, but it seems that you liked it. I hate when characters sound flat. I’m glad the writing is good, that does happen to be a key part! Now I just want to get up and run! Luckily I’m going to the gym in an hour. Stunning review as usual, Lola ❤

    Like

  6. I can’t run to save my life. <— True story. But I would like to like to learn how to lift weights because I can't lift anything over 5 lbs and I'm not kidding. I think I was born with spaghetti arms. *shrugs*

    Anyway, this book reminds me of a sports themed book that I rated 4 stars, The Year We Fell Down (The Ivy Years, #1) and I loved it. It's not quite the same but there are some similarities. And it's enough for me to want to add this book to my TBR. *wink*

    Like

    • Omg, 😄 Well thank for sharing that with me hehehe! I have speed challenges which we do sometimes in school but if I can choose my own speed and jog, then I guess I’m fine. xd
      Cool, I didn’t hear of that book but will check it out! Haha, can’t wait to see what you think of it! 😉

      Like

  7. I have looked into the first book and they sounds really cute. Maybe that is just what they are: cute! I feel that sometimes that is just enough :). I have a love/hate relationship with running: I ran a 10k in June and haven’t ran since, haha.

    Like

  8. Hmm, I don’t know how I feel about everything just falling into her lap like that. I think that might get annoying after awhile. I really want to read this so thanks for the heads up about it. Maybe since I will be prepared for it now it won’t bother me as much..then again, it still may. 😉

    Like

  9. Ahh, Lola! You’ve got me going mad to pick this beauty up. I’m probably going to have to order it online or get it when I’m in the States because I can’t seem to find it anywhere near me. *pouts* I’m so glad that you enjoyed this one! I love Miranda’s writing, so this for sure won’t be a bummer in that way. Deep moments? A cute story? This is my perfect summer read. Thanks for the gorgeous review!

    Like

  10. Great review. It does seem like Annie is very lucky… It’s like things are falling into place too easy while the reast of us strugglr. I like a good sports story, so it’s good to see you liked this, even with the issues you had.

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    Like

  11. I’m glad to see you enjoyed this one as much as you did, despite its flaws. I’ve read two previous Hundred Oaks books; the first I loved, the second I didn’t. I haven’t felt compelled to return to this series but this book in particular has me curious to launch back in–maybe I will.

    Like

  12. You loved this more than I did, Lola, and for that I am glad because this book needs to be liked by the right person. While Annie developed throughout the book, I felt like Jeremy is, for the lack of better terms, bland and unswoon-worthy at all. Sigh. This didn’t make me feel running at all, Lola. Haha! I felt like dying every time I read Annie’s stomach problems and whatnot, I think she had run for the both of us. Heh. Fantastic review! 🙂

    Like

    • It does, huh? Sure is not for everyone 😉 Really? I thought he was really cute but I’m glad to hear your opinion. Hahahah, lol! How could it not? 😄 It motivated me so much. BUT, yeah, the fact that she often throwed up was not very motivating, I guess…She probably had and thank you, Sarah! 😀

      Like

  13. Hiya there, Lola! I’ve only read the first book of the Hundred Oaks series, Catching Jordan. It was decent but it didn’t WOW me just like everyone else. So I wasn’t really interested in picking up the second one. Maybe, I’ll return to it if I’m in the mood of reading light romance books.

    And this review really discourages me to go on because the heroine’s luck is a bit unrealistic. I mean, that’s sort of ridiculous right? In real life, you have to work hard if you want something. It can even apply to rich people who have plenty of connections and money.

    But granting that I would read this book, I think I’d be overcome with guilt because I’m not into sports, exercise and any form of physical activity. I’m probably the laziest person in the world.

    I’m happy though that you still enjoyed this one despite the glaring flaws.

    Fab review, Lola!

    Like

    • It is ridiculous, yeah, but I was like oh it’s fiction you know? xd This book is absolutely not realistic, that’s for sure.
      LOL, I’m really not into sports either, except for rollerblades! I usually HATE running but we have to sometimes… Thank you, Charlotte! 😀

      Like

  14. Jeremiah wasn’t the kind of character I could understand at all — I’m a super-big chicken — and at times it did feel like he was created to be the exact wrong person for her to fall for. That said, I enjoyed watching her training and I did come to like the two of them together.
    Catching Jordan is still my favorite of these books!
    Jen @ YA Romantics

    Like

Leave a Reply

