Review of Where She Went by Gayle Forman


Where She Went (If I Stay, #2)Where She Went by Gayle Forman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

description


“I needed to hate someone and you’re the one I love the most, so it fell on you.”

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤


“You were so busy trying to be my savior that you left me all alone.”

This is the conclusion to Mia and Adam’s story, one that captivated me until the very last page. The story follows our dear characters three years after Mia awoke from a heartbreaking coma. In this continuation, we have the privilege to read from Adam’s point of view that is as endearing as Maia’s was. It also contains the same calm and out of this world ambience and a lyrical pleasant writing that is simply impressive and…perfectly suiting the story.


“You know, I thought about that a lot these last couple of years,” She says in a choked voice. “About who was there for you. Who held your hand while you grieved for all that you’d lost?”

To be honest, I didn’t find this book as sad as I expected to. Of course, I was emotional in the inside but it didn’t show up with tears. Often goosebumps appeared though, making me remember that this is a poignant story and that those characters are wonderful and that Adam is one of the most…good hearted hero I have ever encountered in a book.


“Hate me. Devastate me. Annihilate me. Re-create me. Re-create me. Won’t you, won’t you won’t you re-create me.”

One of the things I loved the most in Where She Went is definitely the lyrics of songs wrote at the beginning of some chapters. They’re enchanting and they make you understand some parts of Adam’s life better and maybe realize how he got so far and became a celebrity.


“First you inspect me
Then you dissect me
Then you reject me
I wait for the day
That you’ll resurrect me
“Animate”

I recommend this series to everyone, boy and girl, teenager and adult and especially to hopeless contemporary romance lovers because the romance is absolutely wonderful and magical. It’s dreamy and feels so real, an impressive example of true love that may seem unearthly but makes us believe that there is hope in this world for whatever shattering event could happen.


“Her hands were freezing, just like they always were, so I warmed them, just like I always did.”

A weakness I found in this book is the lack of dialogs. There were many pages that were simply filled with descriptions and mostly psychological ones. I didn’t mind it but I would have appreciated more dialogs since those are my favourite parts in a book. Although, the writing was splendid so reading Where She Went rarely felt something other than what it is, a splendid story.

What about the ending?

Perfection.

View all my reviews on Goodreads.

6 thoughts on “Review of Where She Went by Gayle Forman

  1. Beautiful review, Lola! I agree with you, Where She Went is the perfect end to Mia and Adam’s story, I loved the lyrics, too. I think musicians are (at least) as sexy as cowboys 😉
    I am looking forward to the If I Stay movie, the trailers I have seen are truly awesome.
    Happy reading 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

