Now I Rise – Kiersten White

22817331Now I Rise by Kiersten White

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: June 27th, 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Point of View: 3rd Person & Alternative
Recommended Age: 13+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Alternate History

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost. Continue reading

The Magician’s Elephant – Kate DiCamillo

6345760The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: September 8th, 2009
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Point of View: 3rd Person & Alternative
Recommended Age: 7+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Children’s, Family, Fantasy

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

When a fortuneteller’s tent appears in the market square of the city of Baltese, orphan Peter Augustus Duchene knows the questions that he needs to ask: Does his sister still live? And if so, how can he find her? The fortuneteller’s mysterious answer (an elephant! An elephant will lead him there!) sets off a chain of events so remarkable, so impossible, that you will hardly dare to believe it’s true. With atmospheric illustrations by fine artist Yoko Tanaka, here is a dreamlike and captivating tale that could only be narrated by Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo. In this timeless fable, she evokes the largest of themes — hope and belonging, desire and compassion — with the lightness of a magician’s touch. Continue reading

Wonder – R.J. Palacio

wonder_cover_art Wonder by R.J. Palacio

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: February 14th, 2012
Publisher: Knopf BFYR
Point of View: 1st Person & Alternative
Recommended Age: 9+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Middle Grade, Family, School, Friendship

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances? Continue reading

The Running Dream – Wendelin Van Draanen

8354134The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanen

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: January 11th, 2011
Publisher: Knopf BFYR
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 11+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Disability, Sports, Realistic Fiction

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Jessica thinks her life is over when she loses a leg in a car accident. She’s not comforted by the news that she’ll be able to walk with the help of a prosthetic leg. Who cares about walking when you live to run?

As she struggles to cope with crutches and a first cyborg-like prosthetic, Jessica feels oddly both in the spotlight and invisible. People who don’t know what to say, act like she’s not there. Which she could handle better if she weren’t now keenly aware that she’d done the same thing herself to a girl with CP named Rosa. A girl who is going to tutor her through all the math she’s missed. A girl who sees right into the heart of her.

With the support of family, friends, a coach, and her track teammates, Jessica may actually be able to run again. But that’s not enough for her now. She doesn’t just want to cross finish lines herself—she wants to take Rosa with her. Continue reading

Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella

23305614Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: June 9th, 2015
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Mental Health, Family, Romance

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family. Continue reading

Eliza and Her Monsters – Francesca Zappia

31931941Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars
Received: Borrowed
Publication Date: May 30th, 2017
Publisher: HarperCollins
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Mental Illness, Contemporary Romance, Fandom

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. Continue reading

Queens of Geek – Jen Wilde

28245707Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Borrowed
Publication Date: March 14th, 2017
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, LGBT, Contemporary Romance, Fandom, Internet Famous

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe. Continue reading